40 Before 40

This year I’ll be 36. I don’t know what happened to the last ten years. But I do know that for the last several months I’ve been thinking a lot about how I can live a better, healthier life. This year I’ve discovered intuitive eating, started this blog, increased my exercise exponentially and addressed sleeping problems that I’ve been avoiding dealing with for years. Postive changes are addictive :).

I recently made this list of 40 goals I’d like to accomplish before I hit the big 4-0. Some are tiny. Some are huge. Most have been things I’ve been thinking about doing for a while. But time flies…

  1. Start meditating daily
  2. Have acupuncture.
  3. Wear gray hair with pride (Its been my natural color since I was in my late twenties).
  4. Be professionally fitted for a bra.
  5. Try a spinning class.
  6. Learn to make homemade biscuits well.
  7. Learn to sew.
  8. Find a hairdresser that I like.
  9. Have a pixie haircut.
  10. Visit twenty different houses of worship.
  11. Go on a camping trip.
  12. Get a professional facial.
  13. Get a chiropractic adjustment.
  14. Learn how to fold a fitted sheet.
  15. Make a collection of family recipes for the people in my family.
  16. Study our genealogy; and make a family history book for N.
  17. Knit a sweater.
  18. Make a craft and sell it.
  19. Go to a wine and design.
  20. Try a spinning class.
  21. Try a cross fit class
  22. Write and illustrate a children’s book
  23. Take a barre class.
  24. Become a National Board Certified teacher.
  25. Find our forever home.
  26. Have a second child.
  27. Learn an instrument.
  28. Grow a year round garden
  29. Write for something other than my own blog.
  30. Sew a quilt
  31. Buy a Vitamix.
  32. Visit Canada.
  33. Go deep sea diving.
  34. Go on a week-long trip with just M..
  35. Go on a train trip.
  36. Try one season of a community supported agriculture subscription.
  37. Save a year’s expenses in savings.
  38. Go on a cruise.
  39. Rent an antique booth for a year.
  40. Successfully make a layered cake.

There it is! I think I can do it. What about you? What do you hope to accomplish before your next big milestone?

Leave a Reply

